Friday Hodgepodge

You guys…I’m running on fumes over here.  Allison decided she was NOT going to sleep from 1-4am last night but instead scream a lot.  Then she was up for good at 5…and brother came wandering out soon after exclaiming “It’s still dark out!”.  Yep buddy…it sure is.

Anyways…5 things on my mind this Friday (besides sleep)…

Reading:  Liane Moriarty’s new book “Truly Madly Guilty”

TMG

I tend to go all-in when I find an author I love…like after reading Gone Girl I immediately read Gillian Flynn’s other two novels.  Same goes for my gal Liane.  My favorites being What Alice Forgot and Three Wishes…but they are all so good!  I’m only about 6 chapters into this one so the story hasn’t fully taken shape yet…but I’m definitely intrigued.

Listening:  I’ve been getting back into podcasts lately.  My favorites right now include This American Life and The Longest Shortest Time.  A recent TAL bit involved Aziz Ansari reading off texts guys send to girls to make first contact (ep #559)…it’s pretty hilarious.  Then Lance and I tried to remember when texting became “the thing”.  I remember the summer after I graduated college getting a couple texts and thinking it was THE WORST.  Like having to respond required typing the numbers several times to get the right letter.  I hated it.  Now I write novels to my friends via text…

Watching:  The Night Of

thenightof

I don’t know….I don’t think he did it…but maybe he did?  Anyways…it’s pretty good.  It’s the one show Lance and I watch together right now so it’s our Sunday night thing.  Also Omar is in it.

Oh and obviously I’m watching Bachelor in Paradise.  Drunk Chad reminds me of over-tired Jack…minus all the “dollar dollar bills” and “murdery” talk.  But basically the same thing.  I kinda loved Chad when he ate a raw sweet potato…but after his episode on BIP I’m off the Chad Wagon.  Well except his line to Chris Harrison about drinking mimosa’s in a bathrobe…that was tv gold.  I also love reading these two bloggers’ recaps…almost better than the show itself:  JenF & LC   OH and Wells (from bachelorette) does hilarious drunk-snaps during the episodes and they are pretty good.  He’s like my favorite now.

Digging: The new stories on Instagram.  Of course it comes now that I’m finally following enough people on snap to waste a good 20min watching stories.  So now I just waste time on both.  It suddenly feels more personal…esp when you hear someone’s voice after only knowing them via carefully curated pictures.

Writing: …for KCMB!  I’m pretty excited to be a new contributor for the Kansas City Mom’s blog.  Granted I’m also a little nervous…I hope I don’t suck.  I tricked them into letting me write about beer…so that’s fun.  It goes up next week so stay tuned!

13923546_1109406329134577_1247749786991037324_o

 

SUMMER-16-oh-hey-friday_zps7wesjo4r

Leave a Reply

