Allison’s Nursery

Avey-64

*photo by Allison Corrin Photography

Allison recently turned 6 months old (what?!) and so I figured it was about time I took some pics of her nursery.  Unlike with Jack, we knew what we were having this time around…and I will admit I loved going with more feminine touches after doing the neutral thing for Jack’s room.  I was really drawn to the light and airy blush/cream/mint/gold nurseries on pinterest and the arrow/tribal trend so that is what I went for.  I purchased this fabric from Spoonflower to make the changing pad cover and just went from there.

IMG_9456

*view from the door coming into the room

 

If you have been following for awhile than you know I have a deep love for the color gray and painted almost all the walls in our first home some shade of gray.  So shocker…I went with gray walls here as well.  The only difference is I went with a much warmer gray color as opposed to the cooler grays from our last home.  The trim unfortunately has all been painted a cream color…ugh…if only there was an “undo” button for that.  So I felt the warmer color was needed to offset the cream trim and brown carpet.

IMG_9407

*Allison approves of the brown carpet…mom not so much.

IMG_9464

IMG_9452

IMG_9468

All of the furniture is just recycled from Jack’s nursery.  We bought Jack a twin size “big boy bed” and matching dresser so we could keep all the white stuff for the nursery.  I wanted to do the embroidery hoops above the crib again but instead of using fabric as I did for Jack’s room, I wrapped yarn around the inner loop to give it a more “tribal” feel.  I struggled to find the perfect mint color yarn at the time….still hoping to switch it out if I ever come across some.  IMG_9466 (3)

After seeing several pics of the Hemnes dresser with gold knobs I knew I had to do the same and just spray painted over the original knobs.  I also went with a gallery wall above the dresser again and  I LOVE how it turned out.  I started with the coral Kansas state print and then just picked things up here and there as I came across them.  I also did the hospital pic with id band just like I made for Jack in the ikea box frame.  I spray painted Allison’s frame gold to tie in with the other gold accents throughout her room.  I found this little arrow at a local craft event and spray painted it gold and threw on some gold hooks and voila…a little headband holder!

IMG_9333

IMG_9432

It felt a little funny buying all these “kansas” things for her room after just moving here but since it would be her birthplace I really wanted to encompass that.  I hope these prints remain a part of her room as she grows and gets to know this city as her home.

IMG_9261

I picked up this cute basic white shelf at Ikea and obviously the brackets needed to be gold…I got a little spray paint happy.  The nail thread arrow is by a local artist and goes with the various other arrows throughout the room.

IMG_9424

IMG_9342

IMG_9344

I found the glass jar at Ikea and decided it was the perfect spot to keep her knot headbands since they are a little too large for the arrow headband holder above her dresser.  The frame and little wood print were Hobby Lobby finds (the same day I went into labor) and her little baby book is via Lucy Darling Shop.

Avey-60

*photo by Allison Corrin photography

 

IMG_9282*Allison says “Get Outta here” in her best Cribs voice. 

Sources:

Paint Color: Sherwin Williams ‘Anew Gray’

Paint via Lowes:  HGTV Sherwin Williams (I was super impressed with this paint!  Like I almost always have to do a second coat or fill in patches but nope…the coverage was outstanding.  I used the Ovation line for this project and it was just as good as the Showcase version which I used in Jack’s room)

Dresser, Side Table: Both are Ikea Hemnes

Crib:  Target, Graco Lauren

Rocker:  Buy Buy Baby (forget the brand…sorry!)

Poof:  Land of Nod in Mint

Crib Sheet:  Target

Curtain:  Target

Clock: found at local Kirklands

Kansas state print: Armada Supply Co on Etsy

Kansas City print: by Tammy Smith found locally

Circle Mirrors and various frames found at local Home Goods

Large wall arrow with hooks:  Target

3 thoughts on “Allison’s Nursery

  1. Hey lady. I’m popping my head back into the blog word (seriously, I haven’t read one in about a year…) and of course yours is one of the first I wonder to. I LOVE the nursery. And your sweet girlie couldn’t be cuter.

Leave a Reply

