Home

 

IMG_3551

A few weekends ago Lance and I took advantage of my Mom being in town and went on a little day date to explore some local breweries.   When talking with the various brewtenders and some other patrons we always started off with the “we recently moved here!” bit.  We felt like tourists on vacation.  A little escape from the burbs to the city…the city we don’t know and doesn’t yet feel like home.

IMG_2849

 

As we closely followed the route on the map neither of us had a clue what streets went where or nifty shortcuts to avoid traffic.  Put me in downtown Salt Lake and I’ll get you anywhere in the valley!  But here…nope not a clue.  I35 terrifies me.  Sure I’ve got our little suburb down and the major areas figured out…I can get you to the nearest Target and liquor store after all!  But I can’t help but wonder when it will feel like HOME.  When backroads will become my daily route and local beer won’t seem so “cool” and new.  When the “newness” will wear off and the comforting feel of an old worn in tee will take over.

IMG_1771

 

I find myself missing Salt Lake from time to time.  The familiarity of it.  We had our “go to” date spots and knew whether certain restaurants were kid friendly and what Jack may or may not eat there.  We had our favorite Target cashiers and the Sunday morning Starbucks barista who knew Jack’s order (chocolate milk and pumpkin bread!) every week. I knew exactly how far and which streets to take in our neighborhood to get whatever milage I was after for every run.  When family and friends visited we knew where to take them for the best chicken noodle soup (Porcupine) and ice cream (Farrs).

IMG_1338

The unique thing about being a Utah transplant is that you instantly bond with other transplants…who moved there for work or just simply because they love the mountains.  For that reason the majority of our friends there were not locals either and eventually planned to move back closer to family.  Some of our dearest had already left by the time we packed up our boxes and said goodbye.  But some still remain…and I miss them.  I miss our zoo dates, bookclub meetings, and monthly bunco nights which always turned into a laugh fest.

IMG_3329

I know these things take time…change is always hard and moving is never easy.  Now that the dust has settled (literally…like I should probably dust one day here soon) I’m eager to fall in love with this city.  I want to feel like a local and not an outsider.  I want to be able to point out the best local BBQ joint and have a spot in the garage dedicated to our Royals tailgating gear.  I want to wear my Charlie Hustle shirt and not feel like a poser.

IMG_3284

Spring is the season of “new beginnings” and it’s starting to feel that way around here.  Coming out of the newborn/baby phase Allison is changing daily it seems and we’re all getting more comfortable with our new way of life as a family of 4.  The sun is shining through the windows a little later each night and the promise of warmer days is upon us.  As we move past the “just moved” phase into the “KC newbie” phase I know things will start to feel more like Home.  Roots will dig in as we make memories here.  The difference about this move vs ones in the past is that this one is likely for the long haul…where our kids will grow up and come back to to call their Home.

Let’s just get on with it already.

photos:

  1. Our Utah house the day we moved…it wasn’t the prettiest from the outside but we sure put a lot of love and life into the inside.  It will always hold a special place in our heart as our first home.
  2. Jack running through the field of a nearby park…our go-to place to burn that toddler energy.  The pretty mountains were a constant backdrop to our daily adventures.
  3. My sister “Titanic-ing” over the Valley.
  4. Teaching Jack to “cheers” at our favorite local brewpub Red Rock…our go-to date night spot and where we went to celebrate Lance landing his job that brought us to Kansas.
  5. One final zoo date with Leslie and Pipes before we both said goodbye to Utah.  Now if only they had moved to Kansas too 😉
  6. Mini sleeping in her favorite spot in our Utah backyard…under our Love Tree which we had to leave behind 😦
One thought on “Home

  1. It’ll start to feel like home, I promise!! It really is a great place to live and especially raise a family! And perhaps once we meet up (one of these days, I swear), a friend will help!!

Leave a Reply

