Jack’s Nursery

{You can see how I used the same furniture and created a more feminine look in our daughter’s nursery here!}

When I set out to decorate Jack’s nursery I had no idea if we were having a boy or a girl…so I needed something that would work for both.  I’m not super big on boy vs girl nurseries anyway so I really don’t think it would have turned out much differently had we known what we were having.  I didn’t really have much of a plan….the walls were already grey and I knew I wanted white furniture…but that was really it for the starting point.  After browsing pinterest for weeks on end…I found I was gravitating toward the lighter grey/yellow/teal nurseries.  So that was what we went with!

nursery1

IMG_7049

(view from the doorway)

nursery_crib

nursery_cubes

IMG_6023 copy

photo by Jylare Smith

IMG_7060

nursery_sidetable

IMG_7063

nursery_gallerywall

IMG_5978 copy

IMG_6138 copy

IMG_6691 copy

last 3 photos by Jylare Smith

I had to sneak in that last pic of our little family 🙂  I really love how Jack’s room came together and I look forward to watching it evolve as Jack gets older and we add more to it!

Oh and since I never got around to posting them…you can see more pics from Jack’s newborn shoot here.

Wall Paint:  Valspar Urban Sunrise **

Crib:  Graco Lauren

Dresser:  Ikea Hemnes

Rug: West Elm

Rocker: Buy Buy Baby

Various prints from Etsy: Urban Tickle, Creative Wild Child, Graphic Anthology, Sycamore Street Press

Curtains, side table, lamp, frames, book ledges, overhead light…all from Ikea.

 

** I’ve gotten some comments asking about the wall paint color so I thought I’d add that in here…unfortunately it doesn’t look like it’s available anymore…maybe it goes by a different name?  I did find the number for it here.

26 thoughts on “Jack’s Nursery

  1. I love this nursery decor- can you tell me where you found the circular decorations above the crib? They’re so unique! Thank you 🙂

  2. I love this look. The scale of the rug to the crib is also perfect. Do you mind me asking which size rug you went with?
    Great inspiration for our upcoming baby!

    1. Hi Kelly, This rug is not very soft…we actually switched it out since with the Land of Nod “magic carpet” rug. This one is now in our living room…and it’s fine for playing on but if you want to lay on it, it feels scratchy.

  3. What color of Hemmes dresser did you purchase? There are two white options: “white” and “white stain”. The “white” looks a little more off white. Thanks.

    1. Hi! I love your nursery so much! I love the simplicity of it and the white furniture.

      I had a few questions about the furniture. Is the white crib and the white ikea furniture pretty much the same white? Also, with the ikea furniture there is an option for a white or a white-satin color. Which one did you pick?

      I have been looking for a crib that matches the ikea furniture and I love your look!

      Thanks so much!

      Jessica

      1. Hi Jessica!

        I actually don’t recall having the option between white and satin white. By looking on the Ikea website it seems the “satin white” has more of a wood grain look…and the one I have does not. So I’m going to say it is just the “white” version! It is the same as the large cube shelves and really you can’t tell that it is an off white unless you put white right next to it. I think it looks just fine with the white Graco crib 🙂

  4. Hi! I love your nursery so much! I love the simplicity of it and the white furniture.

    I had a few questions about the furniture. Is the white crib and the white ikea furniture pretty much the same white? Also, with the ikea furniture there is an option for a white or a white-satin color. Which one did you pick?

    I have been looking for a crib that matches the ikea furniture and I love your look!

    Thanks so much!

    Jessica

  5. Hi! LOVE your nursery and the simplicity of it. I have a few questions about it if you don’t mind.
    I have been looking everywhere for a crib that matches the white ikea furniture. At ikea, there are two options for white. A white and a white-stain. Which one did you chose to match the crib?

    Thanks!

    Jessica

    1. Hi Sarah! The decals over the crib are just fabric inside of embroidery hoops! The Owl bookends were a gift from my mom…I believe she got them at Hallmark…but it would have been sometime in 2012.

Leave a Reply

