Maternity pics…a preview!

As I mentioned in my 34 week post…this past Friday Lance and I had our/my maternity photo session.  I went back and forth with whether I really wanted to have this done or not.  I mean I don’t see myself posting a bunch of these around the house (like wedding pics or baby pics) so i really didn’t know if it would be worth it.  Also, I haven’t really felt that “pretty” during this pregnancy…it’s not that I don’t think growing a baby is beautiful…I do!  I have loved my bump from the beginning…even when it just looked like a beer gut…but I wasn’t sure how that would translate in photos and if I would even want people to see them.  Throw in the fact that I tend to be picky when it comes to what I like/don’t like in photography and you can understand why I was torn.  I didn’t want any bare stomach photos, awkward poses, or anything unnatural looking.

 

After reading Tara’s post and seeing her beautiful photos I started to warm up to the idea.  However I still hadn’t found a photographer I liked to do our newborn photos!  So that was my first priority.  After searching and googling I found a couple different photographers that I was ok with…but none that I felt really had the feel/look I was going for.  I was really hoping to have someone come to our house and capture our baby in his/her natural element…in the nursery, on our bed, etc…no awkward baby poses or strange props.

 

I came across Jylare’s site via an interior designer’s site (of all places) and instantly fell in love with the style of her newborn shoots (scroll through the lifestyle category if you want to see!).  I emailed her and we set a date for our newborn photos…and then discussed the idea of doing maternity ones.  After debating it for a couple weeks I decided to go for it!

Even though these are just the first few I couldn’t be more happy with how they turned out.  Jylare is so fun and upbeat and she did such an amazing job directing us and helping us not look totally awkward…I really can’t wait to see the rest!  I also feel 110% confident in my choice to have her shoot our little one when he/she comes too!

*all photos by Jylare Smith Photography…please do not copy without permission!

3 thoughts on “Maternity pics…a preview!

Leave a Reply

