26 Weeks

Nori is a photo whore…she was feeling a little left out.

For those of you that are super observant…yes we did re-stain our deck!! It really needed it…so that was one of our pre-baby summer goals…and I’m happy to say it is almost completely done. I didn’t put in nearly as much time as Lance (for obvious reasons)…but it still only took a few weekend days to complete!

And now onto the baby goods…

26 Weeks!

Baby Fruit Size: Head of lettuce (Average size: 13.6-14.8 inches, weighs 1.5-2.2 lb.)

According to one of my weekly update apps…the Babe now has recognizable hair color and texture…so if this child is gonna be a “Ginger Baby” (as my little sister seems to think) like me then it’s happening! Only time will tell for sure!

Best Moment: As gushy/girly as it sounds I’m really loving the baby’s fits of kicking/punching/Gabby Douglas-esq moves. It’s like I get to steal these secret moments with my baby randomly during work and again at night after dinner. I love to just sit there and watch my belly move all over the place…so hard to explain but such a cool experience. He/She is definitely getting into an active/sleep pattern and I feel as though I’m getting to know this little one even before we officially meet. I’m also surprised at how strong some of the kicks are…like make me stop and gasp strong. Which I take is a good sign the baby is growing and getting stronger…Lance just assumes it’s a boy preparing for his future football career.

Cravings: Ice Cream is still going strong in this category. Lance also pointed out that I’m craving/eating a lot of carbs lately…toast, cereal, muffins, bread…I can’t seem to get enough!

What I Miss: Sleep. I know this only gets worse but I can’t help it…I miss real, full-night sleep. Not having to worry about laying on my side (preferably left) and the hip pain that hits around 3am that keeps me from falling back asleep…oh and of course the 4am wake-up kicks from the babe (which I love…but c’mon…it’s 4am!). I think the time has come for me to invest in a body pillow…to at least help with the hip pain.

What I Can’t Wait For: I’ve been chatting with my mom, sister and aunt about my upcoming shower and I’m getting really excited to see everyone back home!! I have some friends that I haven’t seen or talked to much since getting pregnant so I can’t wait to catch up with them! Add in the fact that we’re going to the first Husker game that Saturday…and possibly a new baby to visit…and I’m insanely stoked for our annual trip back to Nebraska over Labor Day weekend!

;

OH and the other big accomplishment in the baby department this past week….I finished knitting the chevron blanket!!!

I LOVE how it turned out. It was a lot easier/quicker than I thought it would be and I’m actually a little sad that it’s finished already. The yarn is super soft cotton and it’s nice and thick too…perfect for those first few months after the baby arrives!

6 thoughts on “26 Weeks

  1. The blanket is perfect! You’ll just have to knit something else if you’re missing it! You look adorable; I’m glad everything is going smoothly for you. I hope you have a fun shower!

Leave a Reply

