OBX 1/2 Marathon

Well I did it…all 13.1 miles of it. I didn’t walk ONCE! …even on that ginormously steep bridge. …and I must say I actually enjoyed it! I was quite surprised at how the people of Nags Head really came out and cheered everyone on. Some sat on their gigantic beautiful beach house decks sipping coffee and waving as we ran by…and others wrote encouraging quotes in sidewalk chalk along the road. It was a really awesome experience and I’m already looking forward to the next one (TBD)…or maybe a full? …yeah I’m low on electrolytes right now…ask me again in a few days when I’m sane.

OH and to make this post wedding-planning-related…how cool would it be to do a bachelorette race…me sporting some gaudy veil and matching tees with the BMs…hmmmm pry not a 1/2 but 10k yes…maybe…or not… (Shelley don’t act like you didn’t just get excited by the thought of “matching tees”…)

ANYWHO… back to the re-cap…well I’m kinda tired so I’ll just do a quick one…with pics…

(L took most of these…I think he may have forgotten what I look like…b/c he didn’t get a single one of me running. Guess I’ll just have to wait for those pro pics to show up online..ya know…the ones where I look like death squeezed into tight shorts and a purple tee…)

dscn1353

Here I am getting stretched out at the starting line..at 6:30am..do I look nervous? …I was. ( oh and thanks to the random dude that came up and stole my sign post when I wasn’t looking)

dscn1356

The starting line! I’m back there in the mass somewhere. They separated us into corrals based on mile pace…I opted to go in a slower corral so I wouldn’t get carried away and sprint the first mile and thus die by mile 3. However they would let one group go and then make the next group wait 5 mins…like punishing us for being slow…and I was in the 3rd group back so I didn’t even cross the starting line till 10mins AFTER the gun.

dscn1358

Here’s where L either forgot what I looked like and mistook these middle aged women in pink for me…or the guy wearing blue in the middle paid him to take his pic instead…

dscn1362

Like I said…L failed to get any pics of me between the start and finish…and till the pro pics of me blowing my nose into my shirt show up online you’ll just have to imagine what I looked like…

Oh and if you’re staring at this pic looking for me at the finish…give up…I beat L to the finish line…he tried he really did..its just when the finish line is on some island with one bridge to get there and one lane being taken up by runners…traffic isn’t exactly free flowing.

Well the wireless internet we “borrow” is kind of slow right now…and I have an episode of Jon and Kate Plus 8 to get to…so I’ll finish up the trip recap tomorrow. I’ll leave you with a pic of me and L enjoying some FREE BEER at the post-race party…breakfast of champions!

dscn1363

Check out my sweet ass ARRRGH! medal…

(see I told you L would be sporting his Viking gear…and they beat the Packers BTW…so it was a good day for both of us!)

4 thoughts on “OBX 1/2 Marathon

  1. Congrats on running the 1/2… and for not walking! The last couple of years, I’ve gotten to the finish line before J. This year, I was there for 30 minutes wandering around looking for him when he showed up! Apparently he underestimated my abilities. 😉 Good luck on your next one!

  2. Congratulations!! I’m so proud of you!! I can’t believe you would really blow your nose in your T-shirt. I’ll take pictures at the bachlorette run in matching Ts, but I won’t run. You look great and the beer looks refreshing and well deserved. Love you both.

Leave a Reply

